Friday, 28. December 2007

Blogging in Bandung?


Lembang

It was the Xmas time of year, which means I get to spend some time with my family in Lembang, or rather, close to Lembang in a mountainous resort with a spectacular view over Bandung (which is Indonesia´s second largest city).

I agree the view IS rather great, however, I soon started to miss the even broader view of the world the screen of my laptop (connected to the internet) has to offer.

I persuaded my mom to drive me 'down' to the more populated regions in search of a 'WI-FI' café (which are practically to be found on every corner in Jakarta). The search took me to a mall, curiously called 'The Paris of Java'. After asking around, I was exited to hear that there is free WI-FI access in the entire mall! However I was disappointed with a slow, unstable connection that made it more or less impossible to work.

After that, I asked around in several locations for a WI-FI café, with no success! Badung Bloggers, I know you are out there, but where do you blog? Any tips for WI-FI cafés in/around Sukajadi or Lembang area are helpful to me, because before you know, it will be that time of the year again...

Trackback URL:
https://texastee.twoday.net/stories/4565122/modTrackback

wimar (guest) - 6. Jan, 15:54

WiFi Cafe

I know the 'Rumah Mode' shop on Jl Setiabudi has WiFi but don't know how fast it is. Am relaying this question to friends in Bandung.

texastee - 6. Jan, 16:17

Rumah Mode

thanks Wimar! I´m going back to Bandung over the upcoming long weekend, so I´ll check out Rumah Mode!
enda (guest) - 22. Jan, 17:30

Most cafes and mall in Bandung came with free wifi provided by Bandung's ISP: Melsa.

You just need to register yourself (free) and you can access it where there is wifi melsa sign.

Several places: Bandung Indah Plaza Food Court, Bandung Super Mall Food Court, Oh la la Cafe, and I know nice cafe in Dago area Ngopi Doeloe also has Melsa Wifi

melly (guest) - 25. Jan, 14:22

try Istana Plaza

I know it's way to late, but who knows when you'll be back to Bandung. Try istana plaza, it's just northside of Pasirkaliki.

in my opinion, Bandung offers more free wifi cafe albeit on-off connection (for commercial purpose)

About me

me

Born on September 20th, 1979 in Cilegon, a small city close to Jakarta, I spent most of my childhood years Indonesia. After graduating from Jakarta International School in 1997, I moved to Germany. Here, I went from doing a 2 year course in media design to studying communication science and cultural studies the University of the Arts, Berlin. I work as freelance designer, translator, and assistant to Dutch artist IEPE.

contact me here:

mail (at) texastee.de
twitter: texastee

Pesta Blogger 2008: I wish I could be there, but I will follow it from afar.

Pesta Blogger 2008

Users Status

You are not logged in.

Search

 

Status

Online for 6199 days
Last update: 22. Oct, 23:40

Credits


about this blog
Bandung
facts and figures
interviews
my research
off topic
people and projects
related articles
thoughts and theories
Profil
Logout
Subscribe Weblog