Monday, 17. December 2007

MEETING 'BLOGGING FOR DEMOCRACY'


A couple of days ago I had the chance to meet up with Vera and Thamrin, both coordinators of the project 'blogging for democracy' as well as bloggers themselves.

They told me about the idea of their project (which is, in essence, to teach politicians and NGOs about blogging).

They said they were a bit disappointed only few of the politicians they had taught in seminars had actually become regular bloggers, but to me the fact that they participated in such seminars seems interesting enough!

We went on to chat about this and that. Some interesting issues came up that will need further investigation:

- Blogging and islam:Thamrin and Vera told me that the blogosphere has come to be a battleground for a growing islam issue. bloggers writing with more moderate views have received threats from fundamentalists groups an vice versa. The blog 'wadhel' (read 'what the hell') had been started in response the growing number of fundamentalists opinions but was closed down in May of this year.

- Blogging and women: Vera says, even though the distribution of men and women bloggers is about 50-50, the content of the blog is strongly dependant on the geneder of the author. Men tend to write about technology, politics and current issues, female authors tend to write about their families, cooking and their everyday life.

Trackback URL:
https://texastee.twoday.net/stories/4540740/modTrackback

About me

me

Born on September 20th, 1979 in Cilegon, a small city close to Jakarta, I spent most of my childhood years Indonesia. After graduating from Jakarta International School in 1997, I moved to Germany. Here, I went from doing a 2 year course in media design to studying communication science and cultural studies the University of the Arts, Berlin. I work as freelance designer, translator, and assistant to Dutch artist IEPE.

contact me here:

mail (at) texastee.de
twitter: texastee

Pesta Blogger 2008: I wish I could be there, but I will follow it from afar.

Pesta Blogger 2008

Users Status

You are not logged in.

Search

 

Status

Online for 6209 days
Last update: 22. Oct, 23:40

Credits


about this blog
Bandung
facts and figures
interviews
my research
off topic
people and projects
related articles
thoughts and theories
Profil
Logout
Subscribe Weblog