Monday, 17. December 2007

OFF TOPIC: YI Hwan-Kwon

HwanKwon

Yesterday I stopped by Edwin´s Gallery on Kemang Raya, a place that usually shows some interesting contemporary art from Indonesia and Asia.

This time, only one piece really caught my eye: A sculpture by Korean artist Yi Hwan-Kwon. It´s a painted fiberglass figure of a boy on a kickboard, but the entire figure is stretched and flattened in a way that really confuses your brain when looking at it.

I think because our brain is so used to process the sight of a human figure and expects it to have a certain proportion, the brain tries to compensate for the ‚missing dimensions’ of Kwonkwon´s figure, so it´s kind of like an optical illusion.

It´s a really fun piece of art, some cute details like the Fila-Socks the boy is wearing round it off. Unfortunately, it´s already sold… I wonder who´s the lucky owner?!

Trackback URL:
https://texastee.twoday.net/stories/4540533/modTrackback

About me

me

Born on September 20th, 1979 in Cilegon, a small city close to Jakarta, I spent most of my childhood years Indonesia. After graduating from Jakarta International School in 1997, I moved to Germany. Here, I went from doing a 2 year course in media design to studying communication science and cultural studies the University of the Arts, Berlin. I work as freelance designer, translator, and assistant to Dutch artist IEPE.

contact me here:

mail (at) texastee.de
twitter: texastee

Pesta Blogger 2008: I wish I could be there, but I will follow it from afar.

Pesta Blogger 2008

Users Status

You are not logged in.

Search

 

Status

Online for 6212 days
Last update: 22. Oct, 23:40

Credits


about this blog
Bandung
facts and figures
interviews
my research
off topic
people and projects
related articles
thoughts and theories
Profil
Logout
Subscribe Weblog